top of page
RayMcDonald01-234x300_edited.jpg

Raymond McDonald

PraxisRay.jpg
Ray-DSC_5469-300x199_2x.jpg
Ray-DSC_5466-300x199_2x.jpg

Raymond McDonald

  • 1970: Born and raised in London of Irish background.

  • 1995-99: Four-year full-time education, Bachelor of Science (Hons) East. at the British

  • School of Osteopathy - Europe's oldest school for osteopathy - founded in 1917

  • 1999 - today: in Switzerland - married, three boys!

  • Various further training courses in the field of osteopathy.

About my work

As an osteopath, I find it very exciting and enlightening to work with the whole person, in harmony with the body, governed by the laws of nature.

It is often a kind of "detective work" to find out where the root of the complaints lie. If you listen to the body and understand it, it has a lot to tell.

The treatment helps the person to be more centered and achieve better balance - a sort of functional 'reset'. I am constantly amazed and touched by how the body reorganizes and heals.

What is osteopathy?

 

Osteopathy is a kind of "manual medicine" to diagnose and treat functional disorders. This means that the osteopath determines where in the body there are blockages that prevent the full expression of the patient's health potential.

Because if the body's defenses and self-healing powers are overtaxed by stress, this can trigger complaints: the balance between structure and function is disturbed. It is now the task of the osteopath to restore harmony.

Osteopathy is both science and art within medicine. The science of osteopathy consists of a detailed knowledge of anatomy, physiology, pathology and biochemistry. It also includes the knowledge of the organization and behavior of the organism in the healthy and in the ill state as well as during a recovery process. It has its own concept and special principles for diagnosis and therapy. The concept is based on the understanding of muscles, fascia and the skeleton as a coherent system. This forms a functioning unit with the other organ systems.

The art lies in the targeted and individually tailored treatment to the specific needs of the patient. It includes the implementation of the philosophy which lies at the heart of osteopathy. For many osteopaths, osteopathy is "A way of life."

Languages

German English

bottom of page

RayMcDonald01-234x300_edited.jpg

Raymond McDonald

PraxisRay.jpg
Ray-DSC_5469-300x199_2x.jpg
Ray-DSC_5466-300x199_2x.jpg

Über mich

  • 1970: Geboren und aufgewachsen in London mi irischem Hintergrund.

  • 1995-99: Vierjährige Vollzeitausbildung, Bachelor of Science (Hons) Ost. an der British

  • School of Osteopathy – Europas älteste Schule für Osteopathie – gegründet 1917

  • 1999 –heute: in der Schweiz- verheiratet, drei Buben!

  • Diverse Weiterbildungskurse im Bereich Osteopathie.

Über meine Arbeit

Als Osteopath finde ich es sehr spannend und einleuchtend mit dem ganzen Menschen zu arbeiten, in Harmonie mit dem Körper, dirigiert durch Naturgesetze.

Häufig ist eine Art  ‘‘Detektivarbeit“, um herauszufinden wo die Wurzele der Beschwerden liegen. Lauscht man auf den Körper und versteht ihn, hat er viel zu erzählen.

Die Behandlung hilft der Person mehr zentriert zu sein und ein besseres Gleichgewicht zu erlangen – eine Art funktionelles `Reset`. Ich bin ständig beeindruckt und berührt wie sich der Körper neu organisiert und heilt.

Was ist Osteopathie?

 

Bei der Osteopathie handelt es sich um eine Art «manuelle Medizin», um Funktionsstörungen zu diagnostizieren und zu behandeln. Das heisst: der Osteopath stellt fest wo im Körper Blockaden existieren, die einen vollen Ausdruck des Gesundheitspotentials des Patienten verhindern.

Denn werden Abwehr und Selbstheilungskräfte des Körpers durch Belastungen überfordert, kann dies Beschwerden auslösen: das Gleichgewicht von Struktur und Funktion ist gestört. Aufgabe des Osteopathen ist es nun, die Harmonie wieder herzustellen.

Die Osteopathie ist gleichzeitig Wissenschaft und Kunst innerhalb der Heilkunde. Die Wissenschaft der Osteopathie besteht aus der genauen Kenntnis von Anatomie, Physiologie, Pathologie und Biochemie. Sie umfasst auch das Wissen von der Organisation und vom Verhalten des Organismus‘ im gesunden und im kranken Zustand sowie während eines Genesungsprozesses. Sie besitzt ein eigenes Konzept und besondere Prinzipien für Diagnose und Therapie. Das Konzept beruht auf dem Verständnis von Muskeln, Faszien und Skelett als zusammenhängendes System. Dieses bildet mit den übrigen Organsystemen eine funktionierende Einheit.

Die Kunst liegt dabei in der gezielten und der individuell auf die spezifischen Bedürfnisse des Patienten ausgerichteten Behandlung. Es umfasst die Umsetzung  der Philosophie welche am Herz der Osteopathie liegt. Für viele Osteopathen ist die Osteopathie “A Way of Life.”

Sprachen

Deutsch, Englisch